The Genealogy of Jesus

1. The genealogy of Jesus is listed in Matthew 1:1-17 and Luke 3:23-38. Who are the authors? What do you know about them? Where can you get trusted information?

2. Here is Matthew's account of the genealogy of Jesus. Matthew 1:17 explains the organization of his account and a table has been made to ease the tracking of all the names. List all of your observations of the account – what do you learn?

The book of the genealogy of Jesus Christ, the Son of David, the Son of Abraham:
Abraham begot Isaac, Isaac begot Jacob, and Jacob begot Judah and his brothers. Judah begot Perez and Zerah by Tamar, Perez begot Hezron, and Hezron begot Ram. Ram begot Amminadab, Amminadab begot Nahshon, and Nahshon begot Salmon. Salmon begot Boaz by Rahab, Boaz begot Obed by Ruth, Obed begot Jesse, and Jesse begot David the king.
David the king begot Solomon by her who had been the wife of Uriah. Solomon begot Rehoboam, Rehoboam begot Abijah, and Abijah begot Asa. Asa begot Jehoshaphat, Jehoshaphat begot Joram, and Joram begot Uzziah. Uzziah begot Jotham, Jotham begot Ahaz, and Ahaz begot Hezekiah. Hezekiah begot Manasseh, Manasseh begot Amon, and Amon begot Josiah. Josiah begot Jeconiah and his brothers about the time they were carried away to Babylon.
And after they were brought to Babylon, Jeconiah begot Shealtiel, and Shealtiel begot Zerubbabel. Zerubbabel begot Abiud, Abiud begot Eliakim, and Eliakim begot Azor. Azor begot Zadok, Zadok begot Achim, and Achim begot Eliud. Eliud begot Eleazar, Eleazar begot Matthan, and Matthan begot Jacob. And Jacob begot Joseph the husband of Mary, of whom was born Jesus who is called Christ.
So all the generations from Abraham to David are fourteen generations, from David until the captivity in Babylon are fourteen generations, and from the captivity in Babylon until the Christ are fourteen generations. (Matt 1:1-17, NKJV)

Abraham to David David to Babylonian Captivity Captivity to Jesus Christ
1. Abraham 8. Amminadab 1. David (Bathsheba) 8. Uzziah 1. Jeconiah 8. Achim
2. Isaac 9. Nahshon 2. Solomon 9. Jotham 2. Shealtiel 9. Eliud
3. Jacob 10. Salmon (Rahab) 3. Rehoboam 10. Ahaz 3. Zerubbabel 10. Eleazar
4. Judah (Tamar) 11. Boaz (Ruth) 4. Abijah 11. Hezekiah 4. Abihud 11. Matthan
5. Perez 12. Obed 5. Asa 12. Manasseh 5. Eliakim 12. Jacob
6. Hezron 13. Jesse 6. Jehoshaphat 13. Amon 6. Azor 13. Joseph (Mary)
7. Ram 14. David the king 7. Joram 14. Josiah 7. Zadok 14. Jesus Christ

3. Just as for Matthew's account, Luke's account can be seen with a table to make observations of the text easier. What do you see and learn?

Now Jesus Himself began His ministry at about thirty years of age, being (as was supposed) the son of Joseph, the son of Heli, the son of Matthat, the son of Levi, the son of Melchi, the son of Janna, the son of Joseph, the son of Mattathiah, the son of Amos, the son of Nahum, the son of Esli, the son of Naggai, the son of Maath, the son of Mattathiah, the son of Semei, the son of Joseph, the son of Judah, the son of Joannas, the son of Rhesa, the son of Zerubbabel, the son of Shealtiel, the son of Neri, the son of Melchi, the son of Addi, the son of Cosam, the son of Elmodam, the son of Er, the son of Jose, the son of Eliezer, the son of Jorim, the son of Matthat, the son of Levi, the son of Simeon, the son of Judah, the son of Joseph, the son of Jonan, the son of Eliakim, the son of Melea, the son of Menan, the son of Mattathah, the son of Nathan, the son of David, the son of Jesse, the son of Obed, the son of Boaz, the son of Salmon, the son of Nahshon, the son of Amminadab, the son of Ram, the son of Hezron, the son of Perez, the son of Judah, the son of Jacob, the son of Isaac, the son of Abraham, the son of Terah, the son of Nahor, the son of Serug, the son of Reu, the son of Peleg, the son of Eber, the son of Shelah, the son of Cainan, the son of Arphaxad, the son of Shem, the son of Noah, the son of Lamech, the son of Methuselah, the son of Enoch, the son of Jared, the son of Mahalalel, the son of Cainan, the son of Enosh, the son of Seth, the son of Adam, the son of God. (Luke 3:23-38, NKJV)

1. Jesus 14. Maath 27. Elmodam 40. Menan 53. Judah 66. Shem
2. Joseph 15. Mattathiah 28. Er 41. Mattathah 54. Jacob 67. Noah
3. Heli 16. Semei 29. Jose 42. Nathan 55. Isaac 68. Lamech
4. Matthat 17. Joseph 30. Eliezer 43. David 56. Abraham 69. Methuselah
5. Levi 18. Judah 31. Jorim 44. Jesse 57. Terah 70. Enoch
6. Melchi 19. Joannas 32. Matthat 45. Obed 58. Nahor 71. Jared
7. Janna 20. Rhesa 33. Levi 46. Boaz 59. Serug 72. Mahalalel
8. Joseph 21. Zerubbabel 34. Simeon 47. Salmon 60. Reu 73. Cainan
9. Mattathiah 22. Shealtiel 35. Judah 48. Nahshon 61. Peleg 74. Enosh
10. Amos 23. Neri 36. Joseph 49. Amminadab 62. Eber 75. Seth
11. Nahum 24. Melchi 37. Jonan 50. Ram 63. Shelah 76. Adam
12. Esli 25. Addi 38. Eliakim 51. Hezron 64. Cainan 77. God
13. Naggai 26. Cosam 39. Melea 52. Perez 65. Arphaxad

4. How do the accounts of Matthew and Luke contrast and differ?

Copyright © 2023 All rights to this material are reserved. We encourage you to print the material for personal and non-profit use or link to this site. If you find this article to be a blessing, please share the link so that it may rise in search engine rankings.